Items: 0
Total Cost: £0.00
View cart

Under The Influence Vol.1 compiled by DJ Red Greg
Under The Influence Vol.1 compiled by DJ Red Greg
by Various Artists

Following on from the likes of “Backstreet Brit Funk”, “Destination Boogie” and the ever-popular Soul of Disco series Z Records continue to release hi quality compilations filled with lesser known disco, funk and boogie.

Now ZR launches a new compilation series named Under The Influence. The story behind UTI is this, being a seasoned record collector Z label boss Dave Lee (Joey Negro) has made the acquaintance of many of the worlds other vinyl junkies. People that may be unknown to the general public but are hardcore enthusiasts who have built some of the best collections of soul, funk and disco on the planet. The idea of UTI isn't about big name djs but is to give a musical platform to those who have the knowledge to put together a track listing of killer tunes. Volume 1 has been compiled by DJ Red Greg aka Darren Griffiths, a familiar face across the world at record fairs and second hand vinyl well as a dj putting on his own Ebonite nights in Dalston (and playing in parties in the UK as well as Paris and NYC) .

For the record, we at Z aren't interested in re-issuing collectors obscurities, average records that are best left as rare vinyl only pieces, we only want re-vitalise great music that has stood the test of time. When Darren sent us in the CDs of his proposed track listing we were blown away by the high standard of his selection. Unlike many re-issue comps we doubt there will be anyone who picks up this CD and looks through the track list and has the all the songs contained. This selection is the result of years of digging, buying records on a hunch, acquiring a few turkeys to find the gems. Check his sleeve notes out for some detailed analysis and history.

As always with Z Records, we've spent time and money to make the masters sound as good as possible so if you're a fan of compilations from BBE or Dimitri From Paris and our own Soul of Disco CD’s then this new series will not disappoint.







Track listing

Listen 01. Donnell Pitman - Love Explosion Album Only  
Listen 02. Beckie Bell - Music Madness (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 03. Seaquence - Disco Thing £0.99  
Listen 04. Panache - Get Down! (To The Sweet Music) £0.99  
Listen 05. Andy Crown - Why Do I Love You (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 06. Free Spirit - Get On Up £0.99  
Listen 08. The Vandales - Feeling Freaky (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 09. Sir Ted Ford - Disco Music £0.99  
Listen 10. Aged In Harmony - You're A Melody (Extended Disco) £0.99  
Listen 11. Rim & Kasa - Love Me For Real (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 12. K.I.C - You Don't Want My Love (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 13. Arthur King - Fear £0.99  
Listen 14. Percy & Them - Shake It! (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 15. Lafayette Street - Can You Dig It £0.99  
Listen 16. New Love Ltd & Interstate 95 - So Much To Talk About £0.99  
Listen 17. Miss Misty - Right Size (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 18. Thunderbolt - Love Is So Funny (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Listen 19. Del Richardson - Rainbows (Jazz Mix) £0.99  
Listen 20. Jim Manns - I Got To Have Your Love Album Only  
Listen 21. Carl Marshall & The S.D's - Crazy £0.99  
Listen 22. Star Quad - Booty Shaker (DJ Red Greg Edit) £0.99  
Mp3 320kbps £8.99

Website by iWeb