Items: 0
Total Cost: £0.00
View cart

The Secret Life of Us
The Secret Life of Us
by The Sunburst Band

As the sun-drenched months descend upon us, Joey Negro & The Sunburst Band unleash their highly anticipated 4th studio album titled ‘The Secret Life Of Us’ on Z Records. Packed with Sunburst signature sounds - a lush cross pollinating hot soul, jazz, funk, electro-boogie and disco dazzlers, ‘The Secret Life Of Us’ is their most exciting adventure into modern soulful music yet! Who could resist the catchy Chic style disco of the title track with its story of an illicit affair or the witty, “this woman wears the trousers”, 2 step boogie 'My Way'.


Things get jazzier on the moody electro 'Jazz The DMX' with Blue Note piano and dubby weirdness, while the rolling down tempo pimp groove of 'Opus de Soul' has beautiful lush live strings that even Barry White might be proud of. Even echoes of the Doobie Brothers resonate through 'Caught In The Moment'. The album also features their glimmering disco-tinged outing, 'In The Thick Of It’, which hit the Traxsource No.1 spot in just 4 days of release! What is common throughout ‘The Secret Life Of Us’ is the attention to detail and labour of love that's gone into crafting this wonderful collection of fantastic songs, all performed by a truly heavyweight collective of talent!

"Making a Sunburst Band album can be bit of a slog, be it a mainly pleasant slog. All those days and nights spent sweating heavily over the mixing desk take their toll on even the best-made pair of disco underpants ;-). As cheesy as it may sound I'm doing this because I love it and I want to put the musicality and craftsmanship from the music I grew up with into The Sunburst Band" - Joey Negro

‘The Secret Life Of Us’ features band members who regularly play live around the world headed by singers Pete Simpson and Donna Gardier. The nucleus of Tony Remy (guitar), Julian Crampton (bass) and Frank Tontoh (drums) are also joined by a selection of vocal stars from the soulful scene including Angela Johnson, Noelle Scaggs, Darien and Vivienne McKone. Combine this standard of musicianship with strong songs and Dave's sharp arrangements and you've got a potent brew both in the studio and on the live stage. Joey co-wrote most of the songs with Diane Charlemagne, who many will know from Goldie's ‘Inner City Life’. “Diane is super talented and writes with wit and intelligence”, says Joey. Diane also performs vocals on ‘My Way’, 'Definition of Love' and the album title track with Donna Gardier.

“Normally I start writing a song with keys and vocals, until I'm totally happy with the melodic structure and lyrics. Once I'm sure it's up to scratch I get the band in and always make sure I record a performance - that's crucial. I want the playing to intensify and go somewhere but without loosing the groove" - Joey Negro







CD 1

Listen 01. In The Thick of It feat. Angela Johnson
Listen 02. Why Wait For Tomorrow feat. Pete Simpson
Listen 03. My Way feat. Diane Charlemagne
Listen 04. Jazz The DMX
Listen 05. Easy Come, Easy Go
Listen 06. Where The Lights Meet The Music feat. Darien
Listen 07. The Secret Life Of Us feat. Donna Gardier & Diane Charlemagne
Listen 08. Caught In The Moment feat. Pete Simpson
Listen 09. Opus De Soul
Listen 10. Trust Me feat. Vivienne McKone
Listen 11. Educated Funk
Listen 12. Dialed Up feat. Noelle Scaggs
Listen 13. Taste The Groove
Listen 14. Definition Of Luv feat. Diane Charlemagne
Listen 15. Love One Another

Price: £8.99

Website by iWeb